Saturday, September 10, 2011


  Irises are wonderful garden plants. The word Iris means rainbow. Irises come many colors: blue and purple, white and yellow, pink and orange, brown and red, and even black.
The genus Iris has about 200 species and is native of North Temperate regions of the world. The habitat of iris also varies a lot. Some irises grow in deserts, some in swamps, some in the cold far north, and many in temperate climates. Bearded Iris and Siberian Iris are two of the most common types of iris grown.
  •   Kingdom
  •   Division
  •   Class
  •   Order
  •   Family
  •   Genus
Since Iris is the Greek goddess for the Messenger of Love, her sacred flower is considered the symbol of communication and messages. Therefore the flower iris in the language of flowers symbolizes eloquence. Based on their color, iris conveys varied messages. Purple iris is symbolic of wisdom and compliments. Blue iris symbolizes faith and hope. Yellow iris symbolizes passion while white iris symbolizes purity. A gift of iris can be used to convey many emotions.

No comments:

Post a Comment